Fudge Lab Members

Douglas Fudge

Andrew Lowe

Dr. Fudge runs the Comparative Biomaterials Lab at Chapman University. As an undergraduate, he studied biology at Cornell University, followed by an M.A.T. in science education, also at Cornell. For his M.Sc. research, he worked on the biology of bluefin tuna at the University of Guelph, and then moved to the University of British Columbia for his Ph.D., where he worked on the biomechanics of hagfish slime in John Gosline’s lab. As an NSERC postdoctoral fellow, he worked on cell biomechanics in Wayne Vogl’s lab in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of British Columbia. He joined the faculty in the Department of Integrative Biology at the University of Guelph in 2005, where he worked until 2016.

Andrew is the Animal Care Technician for the Fudge Lab currently making sure the fishes are healthy and assisting in the various projects of the lab. Andrew received his BS in Molecular Environmental Biology from UC Berkeley in 2013 before working as an elephant care keeper at the Oakland Zoo and then as an environmental consultant. He received his Master’s degree from CSU Fullerton in 2019 where he studied the armor of an armored catfish Corydoras trilineatus, and the bite force of red-bellied piranhas, Pygocentrus nattereri.

Caroline Gallagher

Dylan Burstyn

I am studying the mechanism design of hagfish eggs.

I am studying hagfish slime micro mechanics.

Renata Spinelli

Jewelz Cook

I am studying hagfish energetics.

I am studying hagfish slime structure using electron microscopy.

Lakshita Babburi

I am studying hagfish energetics.

Fudge Lab's Alumni Members

Keolani Kahale-Lua

Noah Bressman

Luke Taylor

Dahlya Habashi

Luke Arnold

Kristen Nieders

Ramteen Rafii

Emma Whiteley

Dr. Gaurav Jain

Dr. Sarah Schorno

Timothy Winegard

Zach Baker

Sara Siwiecki

Skylar Petrichko

Dr. Yu Zeng

Larissa Atkins

Kennedy Guillen

Hannah Campbell

Lindsay Zumwalt

Owen Tapia

Arly Adame

Charlene McCord

Kashika Singh

Aly Dwight

Stacey Zuppa

Dylan Blumberg

Lauren Friend

Justin Nako

Anne Kennedy

Lucy Chalekian

Sydney Carlson

Josh Lee

Jess Furman

Marie Staksen